Pesto Pizza with Bacon, Goat Cheese, and Arugula

A month or two ago, we were walking through downtown Milwaukee looking for somewhere to eat after visiting the Betty Brinn Children’s Museum. We pretty much walked into the first sit-down place we saw, which was Millioke. As it turns out, we were a little out of place amongst the well-dressed businesspeople, dressed as we were in shorts and t-shirts with a toddler in tow, but they treated us well! They even gave us a semi-private room so we’d be out of the general traffic areas. (I don’t think their intent was to hide us; the room had a floor-to-ceiling glass wall/door looking out into the main part of the restaurant!)

All this exposition just to say I ordered their Prosciutto Arugula Flatbread, and it was amazing. Ever since then, I’ve been meaning to try something similar at home, and a few days ago I finally gave it a shot. I loosely based my attempt on Shutterbean’s Goat Cheese and Arugula Pizza, which uses a pesto sauce (whereas the flatbread at Millioke had a white sauce.) I made pesto from scratch using this recipe from Simply Recipes. My crust was thicker than a flatbread, since I just used the bread machine pizza dough recipe I always use for homemade pizza. I used bacon since it’s what I had in the house, but next time I’d really like to try some prosciutto. (The bacon was perfectly delicious, of course.) Oh, and I used a spinach/arugula mix because it’s all I could find at the grocery store. :-P

Not only was it the most photogenic meal I’ve made in awhile, but Kevin and Drake and I mowed through the entire thing in one sitting. Next time maybe I should make two!

Bacon Goat Cheese Arugula Pizza

Pesto Pizza with Bacon, Goat Cheese, and Arugula

4-5 slices bacon
pizza dough
3/4 cup pesto
5 oz. goat cheese
1 cup arugula
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp lemon juice

Slice the bacon into about 1-inch pieces, and fry in a skillet for a few minutes (I like to stop while the bacon is still soft and chewy so it won’t get overly crispy in the oven). Roll out the pizza dough and spread the pesto onto it. Add the bacon pieces, then crumble the goat cheese over the pizza. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Mix the olive oil and lemon juice, then toss with the arugula. Let the pizza sit for a few minutes, then slice it and sprinkle the arugula over the top.

(I felt like a bit of a genius for thinking to slice the pizza before putting the arugula on, let me tell you.)

One Comment on “Pesto Pizza with Bacon, Goat Cheese, and Arugula”

  1. […] Geek Domestique adapted my Goat Cheese Arugula Tomato Pizza […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.