Adventures in baby food

I’m not a hippie at all in most respects, but a surprising amount of my parenting choices sort of fall into the realm of hippie (although a lot of these choices seem to be coming back into the mainstream). We cloth diaper, co-sleep, breastfeed, and I’ve decided I want to make all of Drake’s baby food (although I did buy the rice cereal in a box. I read up on making that too, but I decided to buy it because I wasn’t sure the homemade stuff would have enough iron.)

Drake’s only had the rice cereal so far, except for a failed experiment with avocado yesterday. He kept making a face and kind of shuddering every time I gave him some, and didn’t seem to want to swallow it. So we switched to cereal, and then he started crying and I ended up breastfeeding him instead.

Last night I ran out to Buy Buy Baby and bought a couple of ice cube tray-type things for freezing baby food, then stopped at the grocery store to buy a bag of carrots. This afternoon while Drake was napping, I decided to try to make baby food out of said carrots.

I don’t own a steamer, but I decided that putting the carrots in a colander and putting that in a pot would be just as good. Since the colander was pretty much sitting on the bottom of the pot, I could only put maybe a centimeter (probably less) of water in the pot. In no time at all my water was boiling and my carrots were steaming away.

Instead of sitting around while the carrots cooked, I decided to clean up the kitchen a bit and do some dishes, periodically checking on the carrots. Eventually I noticed the smell of something burning. I turned off the heat on the stove, took the lid off the pot, and picked up the colander. All the water had boiled away and the sugars that had dripped down from the carrots had carbonized all over the bottom of the pot. Oops.

I put the pot in the sink to soak, and set out to puree the carrots. I thought it might be fun to use my handy-dandy immersion blender that I got for Christmas. Well…I don’t know if fun is the right word. No matter how hard I tried, there were some chunks of carrot that were determined to escape the blender’s blades. I think next time I’m just going to use the normal blender. (I refuse to by a “Baby Bullet” or the like; I don’t need another appliance taking up space in my kitchen when I already have plenty of other food-pulverizing devices at my disposal.)

Anyway, despite my setbacks, I did end up with enough puree to set some aside in a bowl for later today, and to fill all seven one-ounce compartments in the tray.

carrots

(Please excuse the bits of carrot splattered so unattractively all over the tray. Obviously my execution in spooning the puree into the compartments has a ways to go as well.)

6 Comments on “Adventures in baby food”

  1. Deano the Long-haired dad! says:

    Like, real cool, man. I could really go for a toke on that puree, man! That is so way out there!! Peace, love, dove…Hari Krishna!

  2. The Big Picture Calgary says:

    I’m not a hippy geek either but I made most of my son’s food until he was eating whatever we did (only chopped/mashed finer). His favourites were yams, broccoli and mango. Tip for using an immersion blender is put it in a taller, skinnier container if there’s not enough to get under the blade properly. Also when he starts eating more than an ounce at a time I found the 1/2 cup mason jars handy. Good luck with your cooking πŸ˜€

  3. Michelle K says:

    Kudos on the experiment! Sounds like my efforts. Overall, I some how end up being a little “crunchy granola” to most people as well. I’ve never tried making my own food, but I’d like to try… I love this website: http://weelicious.com/category/recipes-6-9-months/. I noticed they have info (and a video) on making brown rice cereal.

    Thanks for sharing.

    p.s. Wondering how your cloth diaper experience is working for you… and your dad is funny πŸ™‚

    • Erin says:

      Thanks for the link, I’ll definitely check that out! I’m a little clueless about exactly which foods are best for him and when, hehe.

      The cloth diapers are working well, we’ve had some leak problems with them (probably because one-size diapers can’t be quite a perfect fit) but lately that seems to have gotten better. He’s in a disposable at night these days because the cloth diapers we have aren’t really up to the task of holding a night’s worth of pee! I’ve been meaning to write a post about the diapers one of these days! πŸ™‚

      And yeah, I think my dad’s pretty funny too!


Leave a Reply

