Carrot Ginger Soup

One of my knitting friends mentioned a delicious carrot ginger soup she’d tried at a local restaurant, and I was intrigued by the idea, so I started looking for recipes online. I found this one, made a few tweaks, and ended up with something amazingly delicious.

I was also excited for the chance to see how my immersion blender could handle a huge pot of soup, because let’s face it, transferring hot soup to a blender or food processor in batches is a pain in the butt. Fortunately, the immersion blender did a great job of producing a very creamy soup. In fact, Kevin was wishing the soup was a little chunkier, so next time I’ll probably set some of the veggies aside before blending.

Be forewarned: this makes a LOT of soup. It’s almost all I was eating for the next few days. Next time I make it (and there WILL be a next time!) I may freeze half of it without the cream, then reheat at a later date and add the cream. (I suppose I could just cut the recipe in half, but it’s always nice to have delicious food waiting for me in the freezer!)

Carrot Ginger Soup

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

2 onions, peeled and chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

6 cups chicken broth

2 lbs carrots, peeled and sliced

3 stalks celery, sliced

2 Tbsp grated fresh ginger

1 cup heavy whipping cream

Salt and white pepper

Sour Cream (optional)

Green onions, sliced (optional)

 

Directions:

In a large pot, melt butter over medium high heat and add onions. Cook and stir until the onions are translucent, then add garlic and cook while stirring for another minute. Add broth, carrots, celery, and ginger. Reduce heat and simmer until the carrots are tender. (I let mine simmer for about 30 minutes.)

Remove from heat. Blend with an immersion blender to desired consistency, or blend in batches in a normal blender. (If freezing a portion of the soup, do so now. ) Stir in cream and heat soup over high heat until hot. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Serve with sour cream and green onions if desired.

Leave a Reply

