Happy National Running Day!

So apparently (as I found out this morning) today is National Running Day! In honor of that, I’m going to run 3 miles tonight. Just kidding, actually I would have been running 3 miles tonight even if it weren’t National Running Day. I’m currently training for my second 10k race (actually a quarter marathon, so 6.5 miles instead of 6.2). I’ll be running in the Rock ‘n’ Sole quarter marathon in a week and a half, which looks like a really cool course.

I’ve discovered a new favorite way to do my runs; instead of running in a big loop starting and ending at the same point, I’ve found that I really enjoy being dropped off at one location and then running to my destination. There’s sort of an element of survival to it; if I don’t keep running, I won’t get home (or wherever)! I suppose “run or die” would be a bit dramatic, since I’m usually running in areas packed full of civilization.

For example, a few weeks ago, we ate dinner at my in-laws’ house, then I left Kevin and Drake there and ran 5.5 miles home. I even had to add a few extra zig-zags to bring the mileage up to 5.5. Now that I can run that kind of distance, it’s surprising to learn how close certain places are to me. Running from my house to my parents’ house would be less than 5 miles! No problemo.

My next goal is going to be a half-marathon. I’ve already signed up for the Brewers Mini Marathon, so there’s no turning back now! (Unless I want to be out $65, I guess.) Several of the people in my current training group are planning to train for that one too, so it’ll be fun to all train together again for the half. There’s a three week gap between my upcoming race and the start of half training, so I’m going to have to be diligent about maintaining my ability to run at least 4 miles (since that’s the distance we run on the first day of half training.)

I’m a little apprehensive about running during the summer. A few weeks ago, our group run was on a warm day in the mid-to-upper 80s, and I made it about 2 miles before I had to stop and walk. I ended up hitching a ride with the coach back to the running store. (I made up for it the next evening with the aforementioned run home from the in-laws’, however.) I just don’t have a lot of heat tolerance. I realized recently that my face doesn’t really sweat, which is probably part of the reason it gets EXTREMELY red during my runs. I may start carrying some water just to splash on my face to help cool it off, and I’ll probably stick to running in the evenings or the early morning when the temperature is a bit cooler.

I’m gonna try to update more often, since I’m doing so poorly on my “52 posts in a year” resolution. Perhaps a picture of the Servo sweater progress tomorrow. (Yeah, that’s not done yet either.)

Leave a Reply

